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Maryland Updates Smoke Alarm Law 

What You Need to Know 

 

 
Fire Department personnel are frequently the only smoke alarm “experts” the general public will 

meet. The Baltimore City Fire Department’s Safety Sweeps and 311Installation programs have been 

very effective and the purpose of this document is to provide information on Maryland’s new Smoke 

Alarm Law, its impact in Baltimore City, the differing smoke alarm requirements based on when a 

home was built and the newer smoke alarm features available on the market which include long-life 

batteries and hush/silence buttons.  

Maryland is the most recent state to require that homeowners:  

1. Replace battery-only operated smoke alarms with units powered by sealed- in, ten-year/long-

life batteries with a “silence/hush” feature.  

2. Upgrade smoke alarm placement in existing residential occupancies to comply with minimum 

specified standards. These standards vary according to when the building was constructed. The 

deadline for compliance with the new law is January 1, 2018.  

 

The intent of the new Smoke Alarm Law was to transition away from smoke alarms with 9v batteries 

and to achieve as much reliable smoke alarm coverage as possible in older dwellings. Smoke alarm 

technology has advanced over the years and the updates to Maryland’s Smoke Alarm Law are part of 

a nationwide trend to ensure new and replacement smoke alarms have the most effective technology 

available.  

The new law heavily emphasizes the use of sealed smoke alarms with long-life batteries and 

silence/hush buttons. However, it is critical to understand that these devices are appropriate only 

where battery-operated smoke alarms presently exist as permitted by Code or in locations where no 

smoke alarms are present. It is never acceptable to remove required hard-wired smoke alarms 

and replace them with any type of battery-only operated device.  

 

Maryland’s Smoke Alarm Law requires the replacement of all smoke alarms 

when they are 10 years old. This applies to both hard-wired and battery-

operated smoke alarms.  
Maryland’s new Smoke Alarm Law requires the replacement of smoke alarms when they are ten 

years old (ten years from the date of manufacture). This replacement requirement is already in the 

adopted State Fire Code, reference to the 2007 version of the NFPA 72  
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National Fire Alarm Code (Chapter 10.4.7) which was the first to specify that no “household” smoke 

alarm (battery or AC) shall be kept in service for any longer than 10 years from its date of 

manufacture.  

Earlier versions of this Code had directed consumers to follow manufacturer recommendations. The 

Maryland State legislation now mirrors the code requirement that has been in place for six years. It 

was determined that including this wording again in State Law would effectively re-publicize the 

existing “10 Year” replacement requirement for residential smoke alarms and result in the 

widespread replacement of older, nonfunctioning or unreliable smoke alarms.  

The date of manufacture, while sometimes hard to locate, should be printed on the back of smoke 

alarms. If no manufacture date can be located, the alarm is likely outdated and should be replaced to 

comply with the regulation.  

 

For New Construction  
Maryland’s Smoke Alarm Law has simply been updated to correspond with the International 

Residential Code and NFPA 72, National Fire Alarm and Signaling Code. An AC powered, battery 

back-up smoke alarm is required in every bedroom, in the common area outside of the bedrooms and 

on every other level of the dwelling unit, with all of the required smoke alarms being interconnected.  

For homes constructed PRIOR to July 1, 1975:  
Under the old law, for homes constructed prior to July 1, 1975, a smoke alarm was required outside 

each sleeping area. The smoke alarm could be battery- operated or hardwired.  

Under the new law, for smoke alarms that are battery-operated, the units need to be 

replaced/upgraded with new, sealed, long-life smoke alarms equipped with a hush feature.  

For homes constructed between July 1, 1975 and June 30, 1990:  
For homes constructed between July 1, 1975 and June 30, 1990, an AC-powered smoke alarm was 

required in each sleeping area. The requirement that the AC- powered smoke alarms have a battery 

back-up became effective July 1, 1990.  

Smoke alarms installed during this time period should have been replaced after 10-years of service 

under the existing law and, after July 1, 1990, replacement alarms were equipped with a battery back-

up.  

Note: At the time the new law was signed, hard-wired smoke alarms are currently manufactured with 

a 9v battery back-up. It is anticipated that hard-wired smoke alarms will incorporate long-life, 10-

year batteries in the near future.  

For new homes constructed AFTER January 1, 1989:  
Any new home in Maryland constructed after January 1, 1989 required at least one hard-wired, AC-

powered smoke alarm on every level of the home, including the basement and required that the units 

to be interconnected in order that activation of any one of the required smoke alarms resulted in the 

sounding of all the required smoke alarms. The requirement that the AC-powered smoke alarms have 

a battery back-up became effective July 1, 1990.  
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Homeowners affected by the new Smoke Alarm Law have until January 1, 

2018 to upgrade alarms.  
Immediate replacement/upgrade is required when any of the following events or situations occur:  

Smoke alarm coverage in older homes constructed prior to January 1, 1989, must be upgraded 

to at least one approved smoke alarm on every level of the older home when any one of the 

following first occur:  

 A. The existing smoke alarm is more than ten years old.  

 B. The existing smoke alarm fails to respond or otherwise malfunctions.  

 C. There is a change of tenant.  

 D. A building permit is issued for an addition or renovation.  

 E. January 1, 2018 at the absolute latest.  

 

To achieve the upgraded smoke alarm coverage noted above, smoke alarms shall be hard-wired units 

except that sealed battery-operated smoke alarms with long- life batteries and silence/hush button 

features may be installed in locations of the home where hard-wired smoke alarms did not previously 

exist.  

The Background  
During the 2013 session of the Maryland General Assembly, the existing thirty- eight year old 

Maryland Smoke Alarm Law was amended and updated to take advantage of new technology. Senate 

Bill 969 and House Bill 1413 passed unanimously and were signed into law by Governor O’Malley 

effective July 1, 2013.  

The goal of the new Maryland Smoke Alarm Law was to achieve as much reliable smoke alarm 

coverage as possible in older dwellings without ever requiring a homeowner to run new wiring. It 

was believed that any provision in the law which would have required hiring an electrician, obtaining 

an electrical permit, tearing up, patching and repainting, etc. would have never passed the legislative 

process and would have never been enacted into law. The primary intent of the new Maryland Smoke 

Alarm Law was to transition away from battery-operated smoke alarms powered by 9v, removable 

batteries. Historically, homeowners have removed batteries to silence the alarm when cooking or 

when the alarm’s “low battery” chirp occurs. Despite the best of intentions, many of these batteries 

never got replaced resulting in many loss of life fires in homes having smoke alarms with dead or 

missing batteries. It was envisioned by officials that both of these problems could be solved as the 

State transitions to sealed smoke alarms with a “hush” feature. The hush button will temporarily 

silence an alarm due to a non-emergency activation and the alarm will automatically reset after a few 

minutes. In the event of actual or sustained fire conditions, the “silence feature” will be automatically 

over-ridden and the smoke alarm will sound. A low battery chirp will occur only at the end of the 

alarm’s projected ten year lifecycle.  
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Photoelectric vs. Ionization  
The conclusion of the Maryland Smoke Alarm Technology Task Force was that both ionization and 

photoelectric smoke alarms are listed to Underwriters Laboratories Standard 217 and are perfectly 

acceptable early warning devices which have been responsible for saving many lives.  

Residential Sprinkler Systems  
Nothing in the new law is intended to imply in any way that smoke alarms are an adequate substitute 

for residential sprinkler protection. The combination of properly located and functioning smoke 

alarms and properly designed residential sprinkler protection systems provide the greatest potential 

for surviving any residential fire.  

Enforcement and the Law  
One and two-family dwellings units are exempt from the State Fire Prevention Code and fire 

authorities have no legal right of entry into individual occupied dwellings to verify that smoke alarms 

are present and operational. It is therefore important for personnel to inform the public of the critical 

need to upgrade the smoke alarm coverage in their homes.  

Requirements for Landlords  
Landlords of one-and two-dwelling units also face new requirements. They must upgrade battery 

smoke alarms to new, 10-year sealed battery units whenever there’s a change in occupancy or when 

those systems are 10 years old or malfunction. Landlords for buildings with more than two units also 

are affected. The legislation assigns tenants of those units responsibility for testing the smoke alarms 

and notifying their landlords of any problems. Where problems occur, the landlords are required to 

replace or repair the broken systems. 
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